Fastpitch Teams Outside of North Carolina:
Effective November 1st, 2017:
10U-18U teams can sanction with USA Elite Softball for $35 which will carry through December 31st, 2018.
For North Carolina & Indiana Fastpitch Teams only:
10U-18U teams can sanction with USA Elite Softball for $35 which will carry through December 31st of the current year. Sanctioning with USA Elite Softball also provides your sanction requirements for USA Softball of Indiana, USA Softball of NC, Got Game NC, and any USA Softball played out of state.
Certain USA Softball events (Regional Qualifiers, National Qualifiers, and Nationals) require Individual Player Registration. Any event that requires Individual Player Registration that USA Elite Sports is hosting, will have it posted in the tournament details. If you have any questions, please contact us.
If you wish to purchase insurance as well or need to complete the Individual Player Registration, coaches background check, or ACE Certification, please visit RegisterUSASoftball.com
If your team needs insurance USA Softball has you covered with a few different options. You can opt for Photo ID or Non Photo ID Individual player registration cards. These cards provide your team with insurance and cover your teams sanctioning cost as well. Certain USA Softball events require the Photo ID cards. If you aren't sure, please contact us and we will help you through the process of determining what your team needs.
Use this to link to Register USA Softball where you can complete your background checks. You can also pick up your teams insurance and ACE Certification if needed.
USA Elite Sports Local Rules & Policies (Fastpitch)
Teams have until Monday at 10:00am to enter events for the upcoming weekend. To enter events, you can use the registration link located next to the tournament on the schedule page, or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Teams have until Monday at 4:00pm to drop from a tournament the upcoming weekend unless it is a pre-pay event. If the tournament is a pre-pay event, the deadline is the payment deadline. If you drop after that deadline, your payment is forfeited.
Teams that forfeit a game (pool or bracket) are subject to a $185 penalty fee and are removed from the tournament.
12, 10, and 8 after 3,4, and 5 innings of play.
The last batted out or substitute unless in championship play events. Courtesy runners must take their place on the bases prior to the next pitch being thrown.
Teams may use two Extra Players unless in championship play events.
Prize drawings are held on Sundays after all teams are in. In the event of a rain out or other events that could lead to a cancellation, USA Elite Softball reserves the right to cancel drawings for the prize packages.
Teams will be given a credit for future tournaments with USA Elite Softball in the event a tournament can not be finished. The exact amount of the refund will be determined after cancellation due to different parks rental fees, etc..There are no refunds on gate admissions and tournament t-shirts.
USA Elite Sports 8U Local Rules (Fastpitch)
8u Tournaments will be COACH PITCH.
Rule 1 – A regulation game consists of 6 innings or 60 minutes, whichever comes first.
Rule 2- The offensive team may bat all players present at the beginning of the game, however they can only bat ten (10 )per inning.
( NOTE: May Bat entire Roster, but not required.)
NOTES: 1st inning -Maximum Runs a Team can score is 5. Teams will change sides in 8u when a team has scored 5 runs. Once an offensive team has scored 5 runs, or 3 outs have occurred, that half inning will end. After 1st inning, Offensive team will get 10 at bats or 3 outs. Last Inning, Comeback Rule will be in affect. ( note Rule #15)
Rule 3- The adult shall pitch with one foot on the 35 foot rubber. The defensive pitcher must take a position behind or to the side of the pitchers rubber, with at least 1 foot inside the pitcher’s circle. The offensive representative is not allowed to coach or speak to the batter/runner or runners on base. After a warning, the offensive representative will be removed from the game.
Rule 4- The batter will receive 5 pitches or three strikes whichever comes first. No walks or called strikes are allowed. A foul ball on the 5th pitch constitutes 1 more pitch whether hit, swung at or looked at, this is the last pitch.
Rule 5- Mercy rules are as follows: 12 runs after 3, 10 runs in the 4th, and 8 after 5th.
Rule 6- Each team may have 3 defensive coaches (left and right field lines and behind home plate), and 3 offensive coaches on the playing field(2 in the coaches boxes at 1st and 3rd and adult pitcher). All players playing in an outfield position must be positioned behind the baselines.
Rule 7- Ten(10)defensive players are permitted. Before the ball is batted, no more than 6 may take a defensive position inside the baselines. Unlimited defensive substitutions are allowed. 4 Outfielders must be positioned a minimum of 10 feet behind the bases.
Rule 8- Runners may not leave the base until the ball reaches home plate or the ball is hit by the batter.
Rule 9- Bunting or Half swings are not permitted. Slapping is permitted but if the judgment of the umpire if it is ruled a bunt it is a dead ball, a strike is called and coach will be given 1 warning. If it happens again the batter is declared out.
Rule 10- The infield fly is not in effect. The ball remains alive with all runners in jeopardy of being put out.
Rule 11- The ball is considered dead during an appeal.
Rule 12- Time will be called by the umpire when one of the following has occurred:
A. The player-pitcher has the ball under control inside the circle, and all runners have stopped.
B. When the ball is held in front of the lead runner and all runners have stopped.
C. When an infielder has control of the ball in the infield, and all runners have stopped.
Rule 13- Courtesy Runner Rule is same as other age groups.
Rule 14- If a batted ball hits the offensive representative,(coach-pitcher), the ball is dead, all runners return to their previous base, and the count on the batter remains the same. If in the judgment of the umpire the offensive representative intentionally gets hit with a batted ball, or obstructs the fielder, the batter is out, and all runners must return to their previous base before the pitch was made. If the ball is being thrown back in and the ball hits the pitching coach the runners are frozen and return to their bases. There will be no advancement.
Rule 15-Comeback Rule: When time has expired, if the home team enters their half inning behind by more than 10 runs, the home team will be allowed to bat until the score is tied or 3 outs. If the home team ties the score then time is called and the inning is over. We will then follow International Tiebreaker Rules until we have a winner. 10 Batter Rule is waived. In Extra Innings, Teams are allowed to score as many as they can get prior to 3 outs.
Rule 16- The coach/ pitcher may only give instructions to the batter. He/She must vacate the field to avoid interfering with all defensive players.
Rule 17- There are no walks, stealing or bunting.
Rule 18- The designated pitcher may use a glove on the field while pitching for his/her own protection. While pitching the designated pitcher may not coach runners or batter/runner. The designated pitcher may not distract the defensive players in any way, either by actions or verbally.
Violations of this rule will result in the designated pitcher receiving 1 warning from the umpire. If a second violation occurs, the designated pitcher shall be removed f0r the remainder of the game.
Rule 19- The offensive teams must ANNOUNCE THE 10th BATTER. This should be done before the batter enters the batters box, however it can be done at the time while the batter is still batting. Once a pitch has been thrown to the batter the defense can appeal the batter being as being an unannounced 10th batter. If this appeal is made while the batter is still in the box and before the offensive team announces her as the 10th batter then the batter would be called out and the inning would end. If the batter safely reaches and the defense appeals before the defensive team or umpires have left the field then the batter would be called out and no runs that may have scored on that play would be allowed. If the appeal is not made until after the defensive players or umpires have left the field then there would be no penalty.
Rule 20- After the 10th batter is announced, the number of outs becomes 2 outs. To end the inning, the defense must get the 3rd out in the field, or bring the ball to home plate. NOTE: Any player may bring the ball to home plate.
Regulation Field will be used.
A line halfway between First and Second, Second and Third, Third and Home shall be called the halfway line and/or halfway point. To help the umpire determine where to place runners once the play is dead & ball is in control in the circle.